The Five Pillars

First Pillar Shahada(Declaration of Faith):Shahadah


English:   “I Bear Witness that there is no god but Allah(God), and Muhammad is Servant & Messenger of Allah(God).”

Arabic:   اشْهَدُ انْ لّآ اِلهَ اِلَّا اللّهُ وَ اَشْهَدُ اَنَّ مُحَمَّدً اعَبْدُه وَرَسُولُه

Transliteration:    Ašhadu an la ilaha illa-llah, wa ašhadu anna Muhammadun Aabduhu wa rasuluh.

Second Pillar Salah(Prayer):namaz


“This is the Book in which there is no doubt, a guidance for those who have Taqwa; who believe in the unseen, and who establish Salah, and spend out of what we have provided for them” (Surah Baqarah 2: 2-3)

“The believers, men and women, are protecting friends of one another; they enjoin good and forbid evil, and they establish Salah, and give Zakah, and obey Allah and His Messenger. Allah will have His Mercy on them, and surely, Allah is All-Mighty, All-Wise. Allah has promised the believing men and believing women Gardens beneath which rivers flow. They shall abide in it. There are delightful dwelling places for them in the Gardens of Eternity. They shall, above all, enjoy the good pleasure of Allah. That is the great achievement.” (Surah Tawba 9: 71-72)

Third Pillar Zakat (Compulsory Charity):Zakat-710x270


“And We(God) made them(Isaac and Jacob) leaders guiding by Our command. And We inspired to them the doing of good deeds, establishment of prayer, and giving of zakah; and they were worshippers of Us.” (al-Anbya 21:73)

“And give the relative his right, and [also] the poor and the traveler, and do not spend wastefully.” (al-Isra 17:26)

Forth Pillar Sawm(Fasting on Ramadan):